Kanye Mixtape and Happy Birthday to Me!!!

5 12 2007

graduatecover.jpg9thwonder.jpg

Kanye’s mixtape cover, photo from HipHopDX; Me and 9th Wonder at his album release show

Twenty-one years ago a beautiful little girl came into this world – it was moi! Your girl is finally legal. I had an awesome b’day party last night to celebrate turning the big 21. Of course I had to have karaoke, another great Japanese invention. For my b’day I will give yall a present. I got my hands on Kanye West’s mixtape a while ago, but I didn’t get a chance to post it. I hope Kanye is doing okay right now. His mother’s unexpected passing must be killing him; he hasn’t updated his blog in a while. Rest in peace Dr. Donda West.
The mixtape entitled The Graduate is WAY better (and longer) than the official Graduation CD. It’s all due to the mixing geniuses of Ohio-born Mick Boogie and Terry Urban not to mention my man, Carolina’s finest, 9th Wonder. This mixtape is SO DOPE. There’s some Nas, Mos Def, Jay-Z, Weezy, Biggie, Busta Rhymes, Lupe, Dr. Dre, Common, Talib Kweli, Ludacris, and Little Brother. Damn, even Patti Labelle? Talkin about pulling out all the stops, Takashi did some new cover art. Here’s a selection of some of my favorite songs. You really are suppose to listen to the tracks back to back. If you want to listen to the whole thing go here. Before you guys pounce on me about illegally downloading and sharing songs I will have you know that Kanye released this mixtape for free and wants people to download it. Make sure you go buy 9th Wonder’s new album and Little Brother’s new album. I’m going to see LB perform on Friday. For my b’day, can y’all get me a Takashi skateboard?

01 Intro – Kanye used beats from everyone and their mama. I think it’s hilarious he sampled the chipmunks from Michael Jackson’s “PYT.”

02 Flashing Lights (Mick Boogie Mix) w/ 50 Cent – Funny including 50 Cent after their “beef.” Normally, I don’t like him but the “Just A Touch” lyrics sound good here.

07 I Still Love Her – This song makes me happy.

08 Stronger – The original may be better.

09 Major League (Mick Boogie Mix) w/ Nas – Nas lyrics are just ridiculous.

10 Kicks Open Doors w/ Biggie – Hands down my favorite track on the mixtape.

12 Breakin’ My Heart w/ Lil Wayne – Hot beat and Lil Wayne cracks me up. “I play fair like roller coasters and clowns.” Classic.

23 Skillz w/ Consequence – Beat crazy

24 Glory (Mick Boogie Remix) w/ Common – Kanye, you bit Laura Nyro hard for this one. Real hard.

26 Don’t Forget ‘Em w/ Consequence – Consequence is batting a thousand.

28 Naaw (9th Wonder Bonus Track) w/ Little Brother – This song is so wrong but so funny.

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 12 2007
mediadeliria

If I can find a takashi skateboard, I’ll buy you one.

7 12 2007
beijinggirl08

I love karaoke. I wish people in the U.S. did it more like people in Asia!

12 12 2007
newsandwhatnot

Yes. I love that “Good night” song with Mos Def. “I won’t say good-bye to you, so I’ll just say good night to you.”

You gotta love Mos’ voice and the spoken word that comes on later in the piece. Happy belated birthday, Nicole.

Leave a Reply

