Tokyo Goes Uptown

4 10 2007

uptown2.JPG

Uptown magazine is running a four-page feature on Tokyo in their current issue (with Alicia Keys on the cover). Writer Elizabeth Clara Brown gives the rundown on a few places to stay and other local treasures. Brown is relocating from Japan to California.

I like the fact that a black lifestyle magazine is taking the initiative to feature Tokyo, which I personally feel is the perfect international destination for some R&R, but I wish Brown gave readers more of how it feels to be black in an Asian country. I heard that there are hardly any black people in Japan. People actually run up to you in the streets and ask to take a picture with you. She could have went more into how it is being a tourist or living there and if she was able to meet more black people. I want to know more about how long she lived there for and what was she doing. Everything else she talks about I could read in a tourist book.

SIDE NOTE: I am really digging how magazines are making their publications available online. Uptown gets a serious TWO THUMBS UP for their new web edition. It’s easy to navigate, and I can even search the whole magazine for keywords and then click to be transported to the page. Gotta luv it! 

uptown1.JPG

I just simply type a keyword such as “Tokyo” into search, click on the word in the reference that I want, and woolah! I am directed to the page I want. Isn’t life grand?

Actions

Information

One response

19 10 2007
Cameron

Interesting questions on Asian culture and its acceptance or resistance to other skin colors. I’d be curious to learn more about that topic. I also enjoy magazine Web sites and have found several that are really satisfying and worth the visit, even mainstream ones like people.com.

Leave a Reply

